Search

Legend of the Protectors by: Sarah Jensen

A young adult urban fantasy

Date

February 21, 2009

Writing Exercise

th_bats

The sky grew darker as the cloud grew and raced toward us. “What is that?” I whispered. I’d watched clouds turn to twisters for three years now, but I’d never seen anything like this before.

“I’m not sure,” Dillon answered. “It almost looks like…” He squinted. “Like birds or something. But there’s got to be millions.”

“Birds? Where did they come from?”

He looked at me and raised a brow.

“Yeah, okay. Guess you know about as much as I do at this point.”

As the cloud flew closer, pings of shock pulsed though my system. What the heck. Birds couldn’t do that. My heart felt as if someone had reached into my chest and squeezed.

“Dillon?” I doubled over and fell to my knees, and looked over to see him on the ground convulsing. What was happening?

Electric vibrations continued to rock my body and I too fell to my side. As the cloud descended upon us, I realized our birds were bats. Hundreds of millions of pudge-nose, vampire bats.

Even in these numbers, they should not have this affect, was the last thought I had before my heart stopped.

Lone Protector

I am working on book 2. Editing and doing a major overhaul. Funny how I write romance the first time through and have to edit most of it out, and then go back and add more monster in. 🙂

I’m a romance writer at heart.

Oh, well.

So I had a comment in spam where someone hated my last post. If he ever comes back here again, I posted that for a contest. 😉 Not that I feel I need to explain my post to some poor soul who has nothing better to do than cuss me for my contest entry, but I have heard of search engines. 😉

Anyway, back to Book two. I am losing about six chapters completely, and am excited where book two is going.

Have a great weekend all!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑