I’ve decided to start something new on Tuesday’s. I will take one of my favorite motivational posters from http://www.allposters.com/ and blog about it. I will also give the link to that particular poster, so you can go purchase it, if you so desire.

So today’s topic: WISDOM

f102309_bwisdom-gray-wolf-posters

Seek always, for by looking for one thing you will surely find another – this is the path to wisdom.

The dictionary defines wisdom as follows:

1. Insightful understanding of what is true, right, or enduring.

2. Native good judgment (had wisdom to leave well enough alone)

3.The amassed learning of philosophers, scientists, and scholars.

David Starr Jordan said, “Wisdom is knowing what to do next; Skill is knowing how to do it, and Virtue is doing it.

This makes me smile when I think of the path I’ve taken since I started writing novels. I sat down and started writing. I didn’t go buy a book on how to write. I didn’t take a class. I simply put pen to paper and wrote my novel. We did not own a computer, and I realized that to do this successfully, I would need one, so my dear brother in law gave me his old laptop.

After transferring the novel to computer, I began editing. Now remember, I only thought I knew what I was doing. After editing my novel three times, I talked my husband into getting the internet. I figured my story was pretty good, and if I wanted anyone to read it, I’d have to have a place to send it. I at least had enough wisdom to want to find an agent. Unfortunately, that is where my wisdom ended.

A friend of a friend read my manuscript and did a much better editing job than I had done. After I had sent out thirty-five dreadful queries, not that I would really call that letter a query. (I should see if I saved a copy of it, so I can post it. You’d get a good laugh.) She told me to get on Querytracker.net and they would help me put together a real query letter.

So now, I’m learning, right? Right. I’m gaining Knowledge/Skill.

I have learned a lot since then. I have edited my book until it made sense to others, and not just to me, because the characters live with me. The query has improved greatly, and I actually know who the agents are I wouldn’t mind working with, and what they want. I know agents that I think are great, but wouldn’t be a good fit for me.

I am gaining WISDOM. And I didn’t say I’ve gained it.

Henry David Thoreau has given us many things to reflect on, and here is no different. “It is characteristic of wisdom not to do desperate things.”

Again writing and publishing come to mind. I was desperate to find an agent at the exact moment I believed my manuscript was finished. LOL. Finished. That piece of drivel. Anyway, so as mentioned, I queried. What would have happened if an agent, through a lack of poor judgment, had requested my manuscript?

It would have been rejected before they finished the first page. Why? Because the first chapter was cliché and throat clearing. None of it remains.

Learning is a necessary part of growth. A necessary part of life. And I for one, am enjoying the ride.

Share what you’ve learned in you writing/life endeavors. And here‘s the link to the wolf poster.

